India to have 60 solar cities


The government is planning to develop 60 cities into solar cities. The plan will be put up by the Ministry of New and Renewable Energy. This project is based on renewable energy which comes from natural sources like sunlight, wind, rain, biomass etc which are available in the city. The fundamental aim of this project is to encourage the local government to adopt the renewable energy technologies and reduce green house gas emissions.

According to a government press release, 37 cities out of 48 have been already sanctioned for the project. Besides, leisure has given to special category states which include North East as well. A sum of 17.23 crore is already sanctioned for 37 cities to develop the solar city project.

Until now, 7 cities namely Agra, Moradabad from Uttar Pradesh, Thane & Kalyan-Dombivli from Maharashtra, Indore from Madhya Pradesh, Kohima from Nagaland and Aizawl from Mizoram got the master plan and the project is in progress, reveals the Minister of New and Renewable Energy Dr Farooq Abdullah.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here