Kerala Announces EV Policy with Full Electrification Plans by 2030


Kerala’s electric vehicles policy exempts you from paying road tax up to three years and offers an incentive of ₹ 30,000 to purchase three wheelers

Kerala has come up with an e-mobility (EV) policy that promotes electric buses and e-autorickshaws. The aim is to introduce public transport that reduces air pollution. It has announced its mission of full electrification of all types of motor vehicles by 2030.

The e-mobility policy wants to have around one million EVs by 2022, to create around 200,000 two-wheelers, 50,000 three-wheelers, 1,000 goods carriers, 3000 buses and 100 ferry boats by 2020.


Policy detail

The e-mobility policy has been designed to promote local production of the vehicles through skill development training programmes, to create a common charging infrastructure for electric vehicles that will have the required power availability and a network of charging points. Power tariffs will also be fixed so that it favours the manufacturers. This transition strategy also has policies and regulations, including incentives to encourage the state’s EV dream.

Kerala aims to boost its manufacturing units that focus on the drive and charging technologies and energy system and storage. These units will be able to avail the policy’s financial and regulatory benefits laid out specifically for industrial and IT segments. A fund is also underway to benefit manufacturers of multiple EV-related equipment.

Road tax exemption

Just like the Uttarakhand EV policy, the Kerala policy also exempts EV buyers from road taxes for the first three years. This has been adopted to ensure faster acceptance of the environment-friendly vehicles in the state.

EV incentives

The e-mobility policy offers an incentive of ₹30,000 or 25 per cent of EVs in the first year to purchase of three wheelers. It has mapped out Thiruvananthapuram, Kochi, and Kozhikode as zones for EV autorickshaws initially.

The Kerala State Electricity Board Limited (KSEBL) will be single-handedly looking into establishing charging stations and co-establish battery swapping stations jointly with Bharat Petroleum Corporation Ltd (BPCL). Around 20 charging stations and 150 swapping stations will be built initially in Trivandrum, Ernakulam, and Kozhikode.

Mobility State Level Task Force or e-MobSLTF has been established for the state’s e-mobility plan. This advisory committee will be monitoring the policy’s timely implementation.

Kerala has come up with 3 potential e-mobility zones – technology hubs, tourist spots and the 3 central districts of Trivandrum, Kochi, and Kozhikode.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Are you human? *