ISA presents Technovation Awards 2011


India Semiconductor Association (ISA), the trade body representing the Indian semiconductor and electronics systems, announced the winners of Technovation Awards December 2011 recently in Bengaluru. The awards ceremony was sponsored by Global Foundries. The awards were given away by Ashok Soota, executive chairman, Happiest Minds.

As one of the most prestigious awards in the Electronics System Design and Manufacturing (ESDM) industry, this initiative is aimed at recognising organisations and individuals for exemplary contributions in ESDM industry. The jury for the Technovation Awards December 2011 comprised of renowned personalities from industry and academia across the globe. The beneficiaries of the awards were selected after a rigorous and long process of evaluation.

Ganapathy Subramaniam, Member of the ISA Executive Council and Convener-Technovation awards December 2011, and CEO, Cosmic Circuits, said, “Innovations for local market, designed and made in India for the world are needed to address the US$ 400 billion Indian electronics market by 2020. Technovation Awards showcase ‘Brand India in the ESDM sector’.

“Semiconductor industry is moving towards Green Technologies, where in efficient power management, lower operating power, extensive integration through SOC is setting the direction. Integration of new materials like gallium nitride, germanium with silicon is driving cost effective and efficient solutions in LED, silicon photonics and power market segments. Another key trend is MEMS coming to mainstream 8″ fabs due to better yields, easier integration with CMOS and also better cost. We at Global Foundries are happy to partner with ISA Technovation Awards 2011 December and look forward to building this relationship further”, said C Subrahmanyam, senior director, Process Integration, Global Foundries.

This year,K Subramanya, CEO, Tata BP Solar India won the Sarabhai Award for his outstanding leadership skills and sustained contribution to the ESDM sector. Professor Bhaskar Ramamurthi, director, IIT Madras won the TechnoVisionary, lifetime achievement award for his seminal contributions for ESDM sector while Dr Mahant Shetti, managing director, Karnataka Microelectronic Training/Design Center is the recipient of the TechnoMentor Semiconductors award.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here