Goa’s 1st “Model Energy Efficient Village Campaign” from Assolda Village


The State Designated Agency (SDA), Electricity Department, Govt. of Goa (EDG) has launched the “Model Energy Efficient Village Campaign”, which was launched on 20th December 2021. The Bureau of Energy Efficiency (BEE) is funding this programme and implemented through the Energy Efficiency Services Limited (EESL), a joint venture of public sector undertakings under Ministry of Power, which is being implemented in Assolda Village Panchayat of Curchorem constituency, Quepem Taluka, Goa. Shri. Nilesh Cabral, Hon’ble Power Minister, Govt. of Goa presided over the launch event of the campaign.

As part of this programme to promote efficient energy use and conservation, existing inefficient equipment such as Incandescent/CFL Bulbs, Florescent Tube Lights, and Ceiling Fans will be replaced at no cost in each and every household of Assolda village with 5-Star rated energy efficient 9W LED Bulbs, 20W LED Tube Lights, and 28W BLDC Ceiling Fans.

The installation of energy efficient appliances will enable energy savings of approximately 6,39,176 kWh (units) per annum and 31,95,882 kWh (units) for 5 years, for both the consumers and the Electricity Department of Goa. This will lead to considerable emission mitigation and a subsequent reduction in the carbon footprint.

Many dignitaries were present at the ceremony, and they shared their thoughts and best wishes for the campaign’s success. While speaking at the occasion, Shri. Nilesh Cabral, Hon’ble Power Minister, Govt. of Goa said, “With India’s economic growth, energy demand has increased substantially. In such a situation, efficient energy resource utilisation and conservation become extremely important. Through this campaign, we hope to accomplish energy savings in order to make India an energy efficient economy. This will enable us in competing not only in our local market but also in the international markets.”

The event was graced by prominent dignitaries such as Shri. Arun Kumar Mishra (IAS), Hon’ble Secretary for Power, Govt. Of Goa, Shri. Raghuvir Keni, Chief Electrical Engineer, Electricity Department Goa), Shri. Rajiv R. Samant, Superintending Engineer & Nodal Officer, State Designated Agency, Electricity Department Goa, Shri. Kishor G Chavan, Cluster Head, along with Shri Ravi Bukhya, State Head, SWC, EESL, Mumbai, Shri. Siddharth S. G. Dessai, Zilla Panchayat Member Xeldem, Smt. LATA D. R. DESSAI, Sarpanch V.P. Assolda, Shri. Sushant P. Naik, Deputy Sarpanch V.P. Assolda, Shri. Subhash K. Dessai, Panch Members of V.P. Assolda, Shri. Manojkumar V. Naik, Panch Members of V.P. Assolda, Shri. Custodio Fernandes, Panch Members of V.P. Assolda, Smt. Sunita S. Naik, Panch Members of V.P. Assolda and Shri. Anthony (Tony) Fernandes, Panch Members of V.P. Assolda, among others.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!