Prof. Ramgopal Rao, Director, IIT Delhi Selected For The Prestigious ACCS-CDAC Foundation Award ’19


Prof. V. Ramgopal Rao, Director of Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi has been selected for this year’s ACCS-CDAC Foundation award for 2019.

Representative image

Prof. S. Sadagopan, Director of the International Institute of Information Technology Bangalore (IIITB), who chaired the Selection panel, and Dr. Saragur M Srinidhi, President of Advanced Computing and Communications Society (ACCS), announced this year’s award at a recent press conference.

The award goes to Prof. Rao in recognition of his work on the science and engineering of nanoscale electronic devices that have had a significant industrial impact. The Award carries a cash prize of Rs. 100,000/- and a citation. This will be presented at the annual Advanced Computing and Communications Conference (ADCOM 2019) at the International Institute of Information Technology Bangalore (IIITB) on 6th September 2019.

“ACCS congratulates Prof. Ramgopal Rao for his seminal contributions to the body of knowledge in electrical sciences,” said Dr. Saragur Srinidhi, President of ACCS. Prof. Sadagopan added, “Prof. Rao’s research has ensued tremendous performance improvements in semiconductor integrated circuits “.

In his congratulatory message, Dr. H. P. Khincha, Chairman of Karnataka State Innovation Council, said, “Prof. Ramgopal’s leadership in nanoscale electronics has led to a vital growth of this industry in India”. “Dr. Rao’s outstanding research in fin Field-effect Transistors (FinFeT) and its fabrication using bulk CMOS instead of Silicon on Insulator (SoI) technology will be a game-changer”, said Dr. Aloknath De, Senior Vice President & CTO of Samsung Electronics and General Chair of ADCOM 2019.

The award instituted in 2004, by the ACCS and the Center for Development of Advanced Computing (CDAC), fosters development and dissemination of theories and applications of computing and communications sciences. Each year, the executive council of the ACCS invites eminent persons from the field to nominate professionals, who have made exceptional contributions in computing and communications industry, academia, and research laboratories. The winner is selected from among the nominees by a panel of experts


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Are you human? *