AP lines up three major power projects in Rayalaseema


grid-solarpowerWednesday, September 17, 2014: Andhra Pradesh government has scheduled to set up three major projects to produce 2,500 MW of solar power in Rayalaseema region. The Government of India, the Ministry of Power and the Government of Andhra Pradesh will sign the MoU for the three projects on 16 September in the presence of Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu and Union Power Minister Piyush Goyal.

The state confirmed that the solar power projects as part of the ‘Power For All’ scheme will be introduced from 2 October. According to the state’s minister for information and public relations Palle Raghunatha Reddy, at Kadiri in Anantapuram district with an investment of Rs. 70,000 million, NTPC will set up a 1,000 MW solar power plant.

The minister mentioned that NTPC has been allotted 5,500 acres of land for solar project. He further mentioned that NTPC Vidyut Vyapar Nigam Limited would set up another 1,000-MW solar power project at Panyam in Kurnool district and a 500-MW plant at Galiveedu in Kadapa district on 5,000 acres and 3,000 acres of land respectively. Besides, he even mentioned about 4,000 MW mega thermal power project to be set up at Visakhapatnam.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Are you human? *